PDA

View Full Version : 400ex help....

Dylanfalcone
03-11-2009, 11:04 PM
Ok im new to site...
And what is the packing?
I have a 05 red 400ex with reverse(yey!) and its manual, and has extended a arms wb e series exhaust slip on, nerfs and bumper, and tag handle bars
What all should i do if i want to hit a few jumps and some trail riding? I kniw i need skids....but they are too expenseive so imma make my dad make sum(hes a machinist)
And do any of you have a blueprint-ush thing you could give me for skids on it?
I like the dg baja ones....
And also whats is the highest tire size i can go?
We traded for it and it was used and has 19x10-9 itp holeshot mx94 on it....and we get like three inches of clearance....
Thanks for any help....

honda400ex2003
03-11-2009, 11:13 PM
i believe the packing you are wondering about is the silencer packing in the exhaust. It helps to keep it cool and reduce noise. It also helps to get the gases out of your exhaust. For shocks if you want to jump and trail ride a cheaper route is 450r shocks that are revalved if you have stock still on the arms, check out the sticky on them at the top. The skids are nice also for the trails if you ride alot of rocks. Dg baja's are nice I had them on my 250ex a long time ago. I would not bother to put bigger than a 22" tire on it in teh back and you will have to gear down for those. They come stock with 20" on them back adn 22 in the front 19" are for more of a racing tire especially in the mx4 itp. Sounds like you have a nice machine. Any questions you have jsut post them someone will most likely help, good luck, Steve

honda400ex2003
03-11-2009, 11:14 PM
OH and welcome to the site!!! steve

Dylanfalcone
03-11-2009, 11:19 PM
Ok...um i forgot to mention ....im pretty clue less when it comes to most the words yall use....
Like the revalved shocks?? Explain it in a way that a 15yr old redneck could undetstand ....lol....