PDA

View Full Version : Camera Questions

papasmurf
03-09-2009, 08:08 AM
I've been looking at the Nikon D200 or the Canon 40D. I've also thought about a D80 since I'm just starting out and it is less expensive. Would I be better off getting the D80 and spend the rest on some lenses? Or just bite the bullet and get the D200/40D

kawabunga
03-09-2009, 02:08 PM
I was in your situation about a year ago. I ended up buying a D80 and I'm quite happy with it. I would love to have a D300 but couldn't/can't afford it. So that's why I went with the D80, spend your money on the lenses.
I got one lens with the camera and I've bought 2 others since and looking at my fourth now. Lenses are really what make the pictures. You can have a D200 with a crap lens on it and that's what you'll get...crap.
But what it really comes down to is how you use it. Lenses and cameras don't take pictures, people take pictures.
If you wanna get a little bit better camera for not much more you could look at the D90.
It all really depends on what you want and how bad you want it I guess, also what you plan on using it for. If you plan on going commercial with your work, you might want to spring for the D200, if you're just shooting for hobby, the D80 will be more than sufficient. Lenses are more important to me. I've seen amazing pictures come out of D40's. Those are considered to be the best "budget buy" camera. Throw a good lens on it and you can get darn good pictures too.

Pappy
03-09-2009, 02:09 PM
You can find D200's cheap right now

and good glass most always will beat out a more expensive camera body!!

papasmurf
03-09-2009, 03:18 PM
What would you recommend for lenses on either the D80 or the D200? I will be shoting ATV/ Motorcycle racing MX and desert and then my kids' sporting events. I'm not planning on making a career but want to get some great photos. My point and shoots just don't cut it.

Pappy
03-09-2009, 03:27 PM
We use 2 main lenses....

70-200mm 2.8 and a 24-70mm 2.8

Snowskidr