PDA

View Full Version : Problems with my 89, please help!

1989trx250r
03-03-2009, 08:52 PM
Hello, I am very new to this, but this site is great! So full of information.

I bought an 89 TRX250R about 2 weeks ago and it has given me multiple problems. It started right up, but after a while, and only sometimes, the quad will just shut down, like it has no spark. I will kick it over a few times and it may start right up, or not. One time I put it away and kicked it the next day and it started second kick. The motor has not run long enough to get too hot. This is the first problem, I suspect its electrical. I checked the wiring and it all looks good (no obvious shorts), I have a manual on the way. Also, there is a roost boost wired into my harness.

Second problem: The few times that I did get the thing running, it would run really choppy through first and second gear, then seem to clear out and run great in third. After clearing out, it ran great in first and second for a while, but if putting around (not even for a long time), would load up again and need to be cleared out in third???

It seems as though its running rich, how do I know what to look for as far as carb settings, jets, reeds? The guy I bought it from says it was modded. Also said that the head was shaved for more compression.

The compression seems good as it is hard to kick with the plug in the head.

Sorry for the long-windedness, but I am new to this and in need of some expert advise!!!

Thanks in advance, Jason

86 Quad R
03-04-2009, 06:53 AM