PDA

View Full Version : Guns

TM426
02-15-2009, 08:34 AM
I'm new to guns and considering getting a pistol. Its going to be use for target shooting and hopefully not needed for home defense. Since I will be target shooting I want something that isn't too expensive for ammo but still has stopping power. I'm not a small guy. I shot a few larger caliber pistols and had no problem handling them but I still want something I can shoot accurately. I was looking at a .40 Taurus. Has anyone had a Taurus?

tach13
02-15-2009, 12:00 PM
dont have one of them but i just bought a s&w m&p semi auto 45. i believe the military is starting to use them. its been a great gun, easy to take apart and clean, well built price was good, but the amo can add up if your shooting it a lot. i have my permit to carry and will probobly getting a smaller revolver for that.

NacsMXer
02-15-2009, 12:39 PM
9mm is gonna be your best bet for a compromise between inexpensive target shooting and self defense capability.

If you want more, definitely go with the .40 but target shooting will be a tad more expensive.

Taurus's are decent guns...depends on which one you choose. Which Taurus were you looking at?

tri5ron
02-15-2009, 12:52 PM
Have you considered a stainless .357 revolver? (basically any brand)
any .357 revolver can also fire .38 special ammo.

Revolver = easy maintaince and disasembly, no jamming
Stainless = no rust and even easier maintaince
.38 special = fairly cheap target shooting, and fair take down power
.357 ammo = serious take down power that is only rivialed by a .44 mag, .454 Casull, or .50 cal.

btw- although it's not stainless, if you get a Ruger Blackhawk Convertable, It also comes with a change out cylinder, chambered for 9mm acp ammo. (3 different shells in one pistol!)

I own everthing except for the .454, as well as many others.
In my opinion, for cheap target shooting, you simply can not beat a good .22, (500 rounds, $15, no sore wrist)