PDA

View Full Version : Which variator and belt should I buy?

techy
01-27-2009, 09:21 PM
Which variator and belt should I buy?
I just bought an Eton with a 90 cc ported cylinder high compression head and wrh pipe. I need to replace the stock variator and belt due to wear.

I am interested in the Dr Pulley variator or a Koso but am not sure which to go with. Also, is it worth spending the money to get a kevlar belt? I am new to these cvt's so any advice is appreciated! The quad will be used for mx and recreational riding with the ocassional drag race.

Also, I am curious if anyone ever stuffed a larger diameter variator from a 100 cc in a 90 cc motor? According to the specs I found (see below link line 2 and 3 in the chart) the 100 cc variator is 105 mm OD while the stock 90 cc uses a 94 mm OD. If the 105 mm would fit that would translate into higher top end. I am just not sure it the shaft is long enough? It appears that there is clearance for the 105 OD.

http://www.unionmaterial.com/Variat...ooterModels.htm

Thanks for the help!

By the way...Sorry for posting this in two places. I meant to post here as it looks like more folks visit the DRR site as compared to the Eton.

techy
01-27-2009, 09:27 PM
I noticed the link was broken...Not sure why. I'll try to post the link again...

The Dimensions of Variators (http://www.unionmaterial.com/VariatorsvsScooterModels.htm)

SMS
01-28-2009, 02:13 PM
I use the malossi multi variator and the koso rear adustable clutch. Koso makes several clutches the one that I really like, it has 3 bolt in the side that you use a allen wrench to adjust. It is by far the easiest clutch to adjust. I have some of them out there that have 2 seasons on them, so they do last.

hotquads1
01-29-2009, 02:30 PM
Originally posted by techy
Which variator and belt should I buy?
I just bought an Eton with a 90 cc ported cylinder high compression head and wrh pipe. I need to replace the stock variator and belt due to wear.