PDA

View Full Version : stay stock or bore??

cannondale4life
01-18-2009, 08:12 PM
Im going to be rebuilding my motor soon because theres a pretty loud tapping noise and its not my valves pretty possitive its my timing chain and tensioner anyways i was wondering if i should go with boring to a 406 or 416 but i really dont want to give up the reliability of my honda so should i keep it stock or is the loss of reliability worth the power gain.

Also whats some of the best mods to go with for me i ride alot of fast woods riding and a good bit of track once again idont want to give up the reliability if anyone can help im fairly new at the 400ex just got rid of my locked up cannondale so im hopefully looking towards a good time on it

any help would be well appriciated thanks

bpfracin
01-18-2009, 09:22 PM
i have a 440 it has a bad habit for blowing head gaskets but has plenty of power

406 should be reliable and 416 should be to, but its your choice if it was 416

and were you were talkin about the cam chain and tensior, i was told that is one thing in a honda that was bad was the tensior so just check that out cause u may not need a rebuild

tri5ron
01-18-2009, 09:31 PM
Reliability comes with a good maintaince routine, and how a machine is treated, more than anything else.

example, how often the oil and filters are changed, adjust valve clearance's,etc., as well as how often it gets bounced off the rev limiter.
Every machine has a limit to what it can handle.
Which raises a question about why your Cannondale locked up.

A 440+cc at 11.5:1, with a excellent maintaince program, and not over reved or overheated, will outlast a factory stock machine that is abused.

basically, you will get out of it, what you put into it.

ceballos400
01-18-2009, 11:06 PM