PDA

View Full Version : Wakeboard/Boat people

Quad18star
01-07-2009, 09:36 PM
Looking for some advice from guys or gals that know about Wakeboard boats. I have a lead on a 2001 Master Craft X5 Wakeboard Edition boat. The boat has 460 hrs on it and seems pretty clean . The owner claims " Excellent Condition"

Is there anything to look out for with these boats? I couldn't find any "known problems" with them on the net , but maybe one of you guys knows something I don't.

I can't water test it since we're in the dead of winter, and the owner wants to get rid of it by mid March. What would you pay for it?

http://img1.classistatic.com/cps/l/kj/09/1/4/015/r4/794651i_20.jpeg

http://img1.classistatic.com/cps/l/kj/09/1/4/016/r4/63779a1_20.jpeg

http://img1.classistatic.com/cps/l/kj/09/1/4/018/r5/5393ck9_20.jpeg

gcart2
01-08-2009, 04:14 AM
those are amazing boats. what motor is in it?

LuckyOxygen
01-08-2009, 09:33 AM
Not tryin to sound like a jerk, but just about anyone that takes care of their boats dont leave them in the water. It does appear to be a nice boat though... To help answer your question now...my friend has an '01 X2 that he bought with 130 hrs two summers ago, and it was close to 30,0000 (limited color). So I would say mid to low 20s. Oh yea, make sure the ballast tanks work, that will really piss you off..

ridered11
01-08-2009, 10:21 AM
look for things you would for a regular engine, i believe that year is efi so you should be good. check the prop as well as the hull for deep scratches gouges bends and it should give you a pretty good idea of what kind of driver drove it and how well it was taken care of

scuzz
01-08-2009, 11:13 AM
Check for cracks in the hull around the eyelets and cleats. Also check the exhaust hoses that are rubber for cracks. Look for leaks around the "stuffing box" (where the propeller shaft goes through the hull) the more hours on a shaft, the more this is apt to leak.