PDA

View Full Version : First ATV!!! 08 525s any tips on changing oil and some mods?

bpjr07
01-06-2009, 04:46 PM
so i finally got an atv me and my brother went and bought a new 08 Polaris outlaw 525s. white with red

im going to do the 3 hour oil change right now....few questions..
do i have to change the filters or do i wait and change em at the 20hr mark?
going to buy the polaris oil change kit.

also I'm very new to ATVs any tips or links to basic maintenance would be great!

wats a good atv magazine to superscribe to?

what are some mods i should do?

Thanks for the help

:p

525Outlaw#55
01-06-2009, 06:30 PM
Changin the oil after 3 hours is a new one on me. My mechanic told me to ride it awhile then change the oil and the filters. As far as mod's, exhaust and jet kit and you'll be more than happy. Dirt wheels is my favorite mag. Hope this helps

ROB450mxr
01-06-2009, 08:01 PM
I have an 08 outlaw 450 and i'm very happy with it. I was told the same thing from the dealer bout the 3 hour oil change and yes I would recommend changing the filters because there was some shavings in them when I changed them for the first time. Each oil change after that I've changed them every other time ( There not cheap ). Good luck w the new ride...

Bobsxlch
01-06-2009, 08:20 PM