PDA

View Full Version : total newb ? but need help

brandonpeake
12-29-2008, 10:00 PM
I am new to the 250R's by thge time i earned enough to get something it was a built 250x then I mooved on up to the 450's so I kinda did this backwards but i love the 2 strokes i had a banshee and it hooked me in the 2 stroke so here is my question,

I see on ebay all these people with ported cylinders for sale for example
trx 250r ported jug cylinder (http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/TRX-HONDA-250R-PORTED-87-89-JUG-CYLINDER-250-R-TRX250R_W0QQitemZ220218024648QQcmdZViewItemQQptZMo tors_ATV_Parts_Accessories?hash=item220218024648&_trksid=p3911.c0.m14&_trkparms=66%3A2%7C65%3A1%7C39%3A1%7C240%3A1318)

So i am correct if you had a stock cylinder as in non ported you would bolt this up for more power or power in a different place?

I also see bottom ends for sale on ebay so is the cylinder and the bottom end the main parts of the engine,

again please forgive i know about 4 strokes so this is new i me and I am trying to learn, I am sure some others dont know either
Thanks in advance for the help and try notnto laugh to hard

1promodfan
12-29-2008, 10:30 PM
Brandon, I'm no expert but I'll do my best to help. There are plenty more guys up here with more knowledge than me. But, I have to say yes, you can bolt on a new cylinder and get more power. You can also get your stock cylinder ported for whatever riding style you have. I would say the cylinder is one of the main parts of the motor for getting power. But the top is no good without a good bottom end.

There are plenty of cylinders and port jobs out there that will suit anyones riding style. Hope this helps, but like I said before someone else will chime in with a WHOLE lot more knowledge.

g9901920
12-29-2008, 11:01 PM
First you need to make sure that the bore of you cylinder and and the bore of the cylinder you want are the same. thats if you are planning on using your piston.

and besides that they will match up.

rustyATV