PDA

View Full Version : Wood Workers, Cabinetry/Furniture Builders...

ZeroLogic
12-29-2008, 06:48 PM
I've got a couple questions for you guys, but before I type it all out is there even any of you guys on here?:p

300ex_#387
12-29-2008, 06:51 PM
Well i've been working in a birdhouse shop for 2 years now. I'm sure I can answer some questions. Before anyone says anything.....Building birdhouses IS NOT GAY!!!!!!!!!!!

ZWILLETT47
12-29-2008, 06:56 PM
Building birdhouses IS NOT GAY!!!!!!!!!!!

Yeah Right LOL LOL

ZeroLogic
12-29-2008, 07:02 PM
The was hella quick.:blah:

Not sure on how to start off but...
Right now I'm working with a general contractor, framing, decks, additions, remodeling ect ect. I took three years of wood shop in my highschool and did everything from building a foundation to wiring to roofing along with funiture/cabinetry making. I loved it, but I have an "ich" for lack of better words for building cabinets and funiture and I was throwing around the idea of switching over to that. I plan on having a nice little wood shop in my garage by summer as well, and selling my bike to pay for the tools.:p
My problem is that I can't find anywhere to work. I want to work in a shop that builds funiture and/or cabinets. I know I'll start low like sweeping floors and cleaning the tools and whatnot so that don't really bother me.
How can I or how did you guys find a shop to work in? I looked online at a few places and most of the job sites didn't come up with squat and if one or two popped up they wanted someone with 10+ years of experience.

Sorry for rambling on.:p

ZWILLETT47
12-29-2008, 07:11 PM
Go to your local lumber yard and ask where/who the local cabnet makers are.

Then just go and knock on their doors.

Good Luck.

chevy
12-29-2008, 07:39 PM