PDA

View Full Version : Any gearcase failures from not using the clutch?

Dangerous400EX
12-29-2008, 08:27 AM
I am a truck driver by trade, so I am used to shifting without using a clutch except for takeoff from a dead start. I do all my upshifting and downshifting without the clutch.

My buddy thinks this will eventually cause a gear case failure, but I dont think it will as long as I do it smoothly. I also know my quad has a pretty tough gearset as far as quads go.

So has anyone had a failure from this?

400exrider707
12-29-2008, 08:37 AM
Originally posted by Dangerous400EX
I am a truck driver by trade, so I am used to shifting without using a clutch except for takeoff from a dead start. I do all my upshifting and downshifting without the clutch.

My buddy thinks this will eventually cause a gear case failure, but I dont think it will as long as I do it smoothly. I also know my quad has a pretty tough gearset as far as quads go.

So has anyone had a failure from this?

I had my 400ex for two years, and I bought it used. For those two years, I raced MX, sand riding, trail riding, ice riding, you name it I did it. I rarely used the clutch on my quad. I generally only used it for taking off, coming to a stop and times when I stopped real fast because I had a problem with hitting the rear brake too hard and locking up the rear end and stalling. That was the only times I really used it.

12-29-2008, 08:59 AM
I always use it. Theres no reason not to use it your just putting more wear on everything. You can feel the difference between a transmission where they didnt use the clutch and one they did the tranny where the clutch was used shifts smoother

kilgoja
12-29-2008, 09:53 AM
maybe get a quad with an automatic clutch?

Dangerous400EX
12-29-2008, 11:50 AM
I dont need a quad with an automatic clutch, obviously I know how to shift. By not using the clutch I just figured its one less thing I have to think about when riding, Lord knows I need all the help I can get lol.