PDA

View Full Version : 300ex cutting out half way through rpm range???

darwood300ex
12-22-2008, 01:27 PM
I just traded for a 300ex not to long ago and I have never owned one before. when I first rode it it seemed to have an extremely low rev limit. well i finally got the tank of gas that was already in it ran through and Got it on a long strait away and realized if i just kept into the throttle at what seemed to be the rev limit it would break past the cutting out and take off to acheive the full rpm range. My problem is that it is cutting out right in the middle of the rpm range. I am thinking maybe the carb needs to be cleaned or something along those lines??? Anyone ever had this happen before? I would appreciate any input as I am fairly new to quads. I have installed a k & n and gutted the stock silencer and rejetted from a 122 to a 130 and moved the needle down 1 notch but the bike was doin this in bone stock condition. Although it never got past the cutting out point in stock form.

dirtdawg
12-22-2008, 02:24 PM
check the fuel filter if u haven't. maybe a bad rev limiter. bruce300ex is partin out but check the oil filter and your idle speed. they run like **** if the idle isn't good. bad plug is a lso a possiblity. cleaning the carb woulldn't be a bad idea either. just do a little tuneup and check the stupid ****. then go from there.

darwood300ex
12-22-2008, 02:36 PM