PDA

View Full Version : Crosscountry Question

snacob14
12-21-2008, 05:08 PM
whatsup guys, here's my question. I went riding this weekend with two guys on very well equiped trx450rs. It seemed like I was shot way before them. I don't remember getting this tired riding before. I am new to the 250r. I have a 400ex and a 04 450r. It just seemed like this thing was dragging me around everywhere I went. Is there anything you guys are doing to smooth out the power on these bikes. Is there anything even possible to do to help with the big hit. I'm running a fatty pipe. I haven't checked my gearing, but it does seem high at times. I hit 4th and its useless unless I'm tapped out in 3rd.

Any help would be appreciated, I really want to run this R in my series here, I just worried its going to work me over.

rustyATV
12-21-2008, 05:30 PM
An FMF Fatty pipe is more of an MX pipe, if I recall. I used to have that when I first got into XC racing and it was miserable.

I use a Paul Tuner Type 6, which is a very smooth and torquey pipe.

There's also an epoxy trick you can do on the ports to help the low end, but that gets into porting and you might be better off letting someone else do that.

My gearing is stock; 13:38

atvmxr
12-21-2008, 05:35 PM
do they make exhaust stuffers anymore? LRD used to have some that was supposed to help low-end, but that was 15 years ago...

rustyATV
12-21-2008, 05:43 PM
Exhaust Stuffer? This sounds like a "crutch".

LONG-ROD
12-21-2008, 06:17 PM
I am not 100 % sure cause I have not tryed it but on motocross bikes pre 4 strokes they ran fyywheel weights to give a more 4 stroke feel to the power band.

brymillen
12-23-2008, 10:39 AM
rustyatv, what about this epoxy trick, iv never heard of it, what does it entail?

MossboysRacing
12-23-2008, 05:31 PM