PDA

View Full Version : xc racing bike

wvbball27
12-10-2008, 03:50 PM
im sure this has prolly been discussed somewhere before but im kinda new to this forum.

ive been riding for 11 years now and have always road a automatic polaris wich i love but when i started racing this year i stsrated having second thoughts. im looking to get a new bike to race. firm believer in the "xc is 99% racer" so with that being said im a bit on the fence abotu what kind of quad to get? i like the 450s but ive been told numerous times that they are a bit radical, not smooth power bands, and a bit high geared for xc racing. ive been told a 400ex or some sort would be a better idea. with that being said what is everyones thoughts on the matter?

thanks in advance guys

ccdhowell
12-10-2008, 09:44 PM
Of course everyone will give a biased answer. With that said, I bought a new quad earlier this year with the express purpose of XC racing it. I decided I wanted my me quad to be fuel injected so it would run great in any weather. I decided I wanted reverse gear, helps sometimes in the woods. Those two narrow the field down to just three quads and I chose the Yamaha Raptor 700R. Haven't been disapointed yet.

I guess it really is personal preference, but think of things that you want a quad to do and things you don't want and go from there. If you have a brand preference then check it out, but seems to me that most brands and sizes of quad can be made to do well at XC racing.

Good luck.

wvbball27
12-11-2008, 04:39 AM