PDA

View Full Version : how do you use your nerf bars???

shok47
12-07-2008, 10:19 PM
Im pretty new to atv but I remember a long time ago when I wanted one, I knew I wanted nerf bars. But now that I have a quad and am fine with the regular heal guards, whats the main purpose of nerf bars? I know they can save you from getting your leg pulled under the wheel but what else? Do you stand on them? Im still thinking about them. I know I want new heel guards though

I trail ride mostly.

powermadd400ex
12-07-2008, 10:30 PM
safety, and the piece of mind that if you slip the net will catch you, and they look pretty badass to :D

TheNewn
12-07-2008, 10:54 PM
Originally posted by powermadd400ex
safety, and the piece of mind that if you slip the net will catch you, and they look pretty badass to :D

What he said.

And if you're a racer, the outer bar on the nerf acts as a protecting bar so other racers tires/wheels cant get in there and screw up your foot/leg or tangle the quads up as bad. if you understand what im saying.

katch26
12-08-2008, 08:48 AM
Originally posted by shok47
Do you stand on them? Im still thinking about them. I know I want new heel guards though

I trail ride mostly.

you really dont want to stand on the outside because they will bend. Im a trail rider and never got into them (personal preference) but sometimes when the trail get tight you have to see saw it through the trees and I know in those circumstances it would keep you from keep on keeping on.

tyman2395
12-08-2008, 09:06 AM
i stand on mine plus i'm only 80 pounds lol

elmer91
12-08-2008, 02:42 PM
basically what everyone one else is saying, for protection. and i use mine for feet rest when i am on the long and boring gravel roads going from one trail to the next.

cjtrx400ex
12-08-2008, 03:06 PM