PDA

View Full Version : 250R pipe question

jmack3986
12-05-2008, 07:50 PM
Okay I'm new to 250R quads but i know a few things about bikes. I currently have this setup. PT cool head 38mm pwk Carb it had a LRD pipe on it with porting and a few other mods to the motor. The LRd pipe rusted through and do to funds i could not afford a new lrd. So i did some dyno chart searching and saw that the FMF gold series fatty had the same power curve as the LRD and had the same horse power output. The test were all done on the same bike and tuned to each exhaust as far as jetting. I concerned after purchasing the fmf that i won't be able to get teh same power i had before, and that the jetting is going to be way off. can anyone help me out so i know what to expect? I want to know If there is a huge difference between the 2 exhaust.

Master LTR450
12-05-2008, 08:16 PM
I have heard the same thing about the fmf and lrd putting out the same numbers on the dyno. as far as jetting you should be good, you might need to change it just a little but i doubt it.

1promodfan
12-05-2008, 09:11 PM
Pm sent.....

atvmxr
12-06-2008, 02:32 AM
i call BS, no way a FMF general all around can compare with an LRD.... :ermm:

Master LTR450
12-06-2008, 06:53 AM
Originally posted by atvmxr
i call BS, no way a FMF general all around can compare with an LRD.... :ermm:

You can call BS all you want but what do you think?? :confused:

http://www.atvsource.com/images/article_images/product_reviews/2001/250r_dyno_run/sparks_fmffatty_lrdteamb.jpg

86 Quad R
12-06-2008, 07:23 AM
FWIIW

the new generation fatty pipes put out no where near the power as the old originals did.

Master LTR450
12-06-2008, 07:37 AM
Originally posted by 86 Quad R
FWIIW

the new generation fatty pipes put out no where near the power as the old originals did.

This may be true but at the same time you could say the same thing about the LRD pipes as well.

jmack3986
12-06-2008, 09:15 AM