PDA

View Full Version : 450r suspension upgrade

hondarider703
12-05-2008, 01:04 PM
so i have a 2007 honda 450r and i was wondering if you guys could give me the down low on a good suspension upgrage for track, im new to the racing and i was wondering if you guys could through some specs in there also such as a-arms, shocks and axle. thanks!

trailrider894
12-05-2008, 03:09 PM
not sure what you meant by specs but??? well i know that elka is good. but if you have the money i would say axis!! your stock will do you fine for a long time though. i race with 450r's on my 400ex and have never needed much more. everyone will give you a different answer to this question. but check out gtthunders conversion kit for the 450r shocks they are pretty good. as far as far as the axle for small time stuff g-force make a good axle for under 200. but check out the durablue elminator it is adjustable i think it is a +2-+4. i could be wrong. i can't much help with the a-arm deal. i know houser and laeger make good ones. the houser slicasts i would stay away from they can't keep a camber adjusted for long before they start getting messed up. i'm just small help only know what i know from reading magazines and from freinds quads but my advice is good. best of luck on your hunt!!

coryatver
12-05-2008, 03:33 PM
you don't need an axle the stock one is good. You don't have to have a-arms either unless you are going to get really into racing competitively they make turning easier and take away some bump steer but unless you are really good you probley won't know the difference you will also need new wheels with arms to offset it back to stock width. Stock rebuilds are the best deal but most importantly get a rear linkage!

hondarider703
12-05-2008, 03:47 PM
thanks for all that info. i didnt know if i would need longer a-arms if i upgraded my suspension.

rob_990
12-05-2008, 03:56 PM
it depends what kind of shocks you get

trailrider894
12-05-2008, 09:11 PM