PDA

View Full Version : detailing a 400ex

elasesino
11-25-2008, 10:58 PM
As some of you have seen, I'm new to the ATV scene. This is my first bike, ever.

I purchased an 02 400ex, and the guy that owned it before me seemed to know alot about maintaining it, but wasn't really good about keeping it clean.

For my first few washes, I've soaked it in simple green, and used the old sponge and hose technique.

Do ya'll have any tips on cleaning/detailing these bikes? Anything I should/shouldn't do?

I've seen some beautifully cleaned quads on here and would appreciate any tips.
http://i33.tinypic.com/vngkzm.jpg

Pipeless416
11-25-2008, 11:03 PM
you're quad looks pretty darn clean to me. if you use a power washer, just make sure that you don't spray around any seals/ gaskets. water will find its way into some weird places.. also, for the cooling fins most people end up using a toothbrush.. lots of work, but i haven't heard of or thought of a better way.. its worse with a black engine.. :o a lot of people also spray the entire quad down with wd40 so dirt doesn't grab as well. some people even spray the fenders with Pam.

tyman2395
11-25-2008, 11:04 PM
when i clean my 400 all i use is some mr clean and a powerwasher. Some people take all the plastics off to clean them. I just ussaly take the back plastics off and spray them done and clean with mr clean. Then when it's all clean wipe it down with some armor all. hope that helps some. nice 400 by the way hope you enjoy it

elasesino
11-25-2008, 11:16 PM
In this particular pic, I had just cleaned it the night before. This picture was taken before I loaded it up for my first ride on it.

I paid $1700 for this bike, and the guy threw in some ramps, and an extra set of rear wheels. It's got a White Brothers exhaust, and everything else is stock.

Mine looks good, but I've seen some quads on here that look phenomenal.

11-26-2008, 06:58 AM
hours of elbow grease...take almost everything off...