PDA

View Full Version : Bucking

elasesino
11-24-2008, 10:03 PM
I've read here that the 400 bucks sometimes. Today was the first time I've ever gotten air on it, and it did seem to buck pretty hard. Is this common? Is there a particular cause for this? Or a fix?

tyman2395
11-24-2008, 10:18 PM
what do you mean by "bucks"?

elasesino
11-24-2008, 10:20 PM
when coming over the jump, it feels like the suspension kind of "launches" in the back, pushing the rear end up (toward my butt.)

This also feels like it pushes my front end down.

I'm completely new to this, so it could be throttle control, or rider error.

hypersnyper6947
11-24-2008, 10:27 PM
You should be hard on the throttle when leaving the jump so that your front end goes up a bit higher, then the back end will level out instead of putting your nose down. Of coarse it depends on the jump but i think thats the general idea.

11-25-2008, 03:28 AM
the rear shock is mounted too high inthe frame.. it does not matter how you hit the jump or woops sometimes, the rear end will buck on you. the bst way to eliminate this is to have gt thuner revalve the rear shock to match his linkage...it works wonders. i am on my 3rd atv with this mod...

buck440
11-25-2008, 07:53 AM
sounds like you need to gas it when you jump and move your but back, its kinda a fine line on how to do it right cause you dont want to nose dive and you dont want to flip back, it just takes time :devil:

11-25-2008, 10:19 AM
either your preloading just in the back or your letting off on the jump or not giving enough gas on it. Never back off the gas before the jump always steady throttle through or accelerate.

coryatver
11-25-2008, 01:05 PM
If you want to remove the buck get a GT THUNDER LINKAGE! It is amazing you won't want to ride without it. Honda 400ex and 450r upper shock mount is a horrible location like speedyquad said. The linkage lowers the location of the travel

11-25-2008, 01:53 PM
I love how everyone says you MUST get a linkage.