PDA

View Full Version : tips or hints

redrabbit
11-20-2008, 01:00 PM
hey guys. im new to the whole atv thing and im really excited about gettin into this. i just bought a 2000 model 400ex from a friend. is there any tips or hints or tricks about this specific atv i should know that it would make wheeling easier. thanks

11-20-2008, 01:20 PM
Originally posted by redrabbit
hey guys. im new to the whole atv thing and im really excited about gettin into this. i just bought a 2000 model 400ex from a friend. is there any tips or hints or tricks about this specific atv i should know that it would make wheeling easier. thanks

If you just got into the sport, I wouldn't try anything like that until you get a feel for the quad and get a little more experience under your belt.

Don't rush yourself to do wheelies and such.

When the time comes you feel you're comfortable, just put the right foot in the grab bar and kneel on the seat, and give it hell. Learn where the balance point is. You WILL go back at least once.

11-20-2008, 02:18 PM
i think he meant wheeling as in riding, not doing wheelies.

the 400ex is a good quad for a beginner as long as you have some respect for it. with that being said...depending on how much $$$ you want to spend, you can make it a lot easier by upgrading the whole suspension or just parts. before you get into any of that though, i suggest making sure yourself and the machine are protected with a good helmet, gloves, and goggles. although pants and a jersey are not necessary, they make riding more comfortable. my feeling is that boots are necessary, bit others may disagree. i will say that i have come to that conclusion after wearing boots and having them save me from a broken ankle.

i am going to assume(i know, i know) that the bike is in close to stock form.

minimum protections for the ride would be a chassis skid and a swing arm skid.