PDA

View Full Version : Loud knocking noise HELP!

yfz27
11-17-2008, 07:04 PM
Son was riding today as soon as he landed a jump there was a loud knocking noise coming from down under. The quad will start up and idle fine but as soon as you try to go it makes the very loud and unpleasant noise. Where do I start looking? I'm still new to these quads and need a crash course in CVT mechanics. Thanks

11-17-2008, 07:16 PM
It maybe your tranny gears

Nichols Atvs
11-17-2008, 07:32 PM
Lift the back tires off the ground and spin the tires i think youll find the gears will hitch and that is a sign of broke gears Then pull off the cvt cover and check out the cluches take off the back clutch . drain the tranny fluid and remove the six allen wrench bolts to reveal the gears and take a peek. Replace if needed .Then start to teach the rider to let off the throttle in the air if that cant happen youll need a slipper clutch. good luck

yfz27
11-17-2008, 07:52 PM
OK thanks there was a definate hitch with the rear wheels off the ground. I will tear into it tonight and see whats up. I was having him try to land with the throttle on so it was a smoother landing. My fault I guess.

Rcarroll
11-17-2008, 07:56 PM
Welcome to the wonderful world of cvt's. Sounds like the tranny. Nichols Atvs has given you some good advice. Also check the case to make sure it did not crack.

raidernut
11-17-2008, 07:59 PM
Without a slipper clutch, odds are this will continue to happen. Teaching them to let off the gas when jumping will help, but this is not the proper way to jump, so get the slipper.

yfz27
11-17-2008, 08:31 PM
So I got it apart and yes there is metal everywhere. I pulled the cover to access the gears and then pulled out the first gear. How do I get out the second gear? Do I need to pull the front sprocket? Can't seem to get the nut off it even with an impact wrench. Any ideas. Thanks

raidernut
11-17-2008, 08:37 PM
yes remove nut and sprocket

yfz27
11-17-2008, 08:55 PM