PDA

View Full Version : help a follow noob out

93 red ls
11-15-2008, 08:15 PM
I have a few questions ( sorry dont bash the noobie i DID try to search button didnt really find a justified answer do help me out lol )

im new to the quad/honda game so im wondering a few things...

will after market front suspension for a 450r fit a 400ex?? meaning +2 a arm kit and tie rods for a 450r would they fit a 400ex? i know honda makes alot of its parts universal but i was just wondering. B/C i tried to reverse search a few part numbers on some web sites and didnt really have any luck

ALSO

( i saw the 450r carb sticky but confused )

will a 450r carb just "bolt" right up on the 400ex? all i have done is a slip on right now but i plan on doing a aluminum air box with a K & N filter

any helping words or thoughts would be appreciated thanks people!

brian76708
11-15-2008, 08:22 PM
as far as 450r a arms they will not fit.

if you read the 450r carb sticky there are a few things that you will have to do to make it work. as a air filter many argue this knn or uni. IMO i have owned both i feel much safer with a UNI and if you do run a knn get outerwears.

look on craigslist for the 450r front shocks to your most likely can find them cheaper there than here and no shipping

BlaineKaiser450
11-15-2008, 09:39 PM
the a arms will not fit but i believe the shocks will

Ruby Soho
11-16-2008, 08:06 AM
450r shocks will bolt up, aftermarkets will probly aswell, but if your gonna go aftermarket get em for the 400ex.

the 450r carb goes on, but you need to expand both intake boots, move the airbox forward 1", plug the hotstart, remove the choke lever, get a 450r throttle cable, and jet it correctly.

dariusld
11-16-2008, 10:20 AM
Originally posted by Ruby Soho
but you need to expand both intake boots,

What does this mean? "both"?

drillteamleader
11-16-2008, 10:28 AM