PDA

View Full Version : the economy s-x

GOTFEAR
11-11-2008, 10:55 PM
the economy s-x and got lay-ed off today and the worst part is now i cant get me a new quad ben riding the same bike for 4 years. i blame it on tv the media ( don't watch the news)

wilkin250r
11-12-2008, 03:19 AM
What business are you in? I'm just wondering all the different areas that have been hit.

I was an engineer when the tech market crashed (six or seven years ago?). I heard about sales figures being down, but it didn't actually affect me, my paycheck never changed.

Now, I'm in the gambling business, and I've been hit pretty hard. Gambling is a luxury that fewer and fewer can afford to do. My paycheck has decreased about 20% each year for the past three years, I'm making about half as much now as when I started.

stever25
11-12-2008, 06:53 AM
I'm a land surveyor/civil engineering tech and I was recently laid off due to lack of work. Nobody is starting new construction
with the way the housing market is!!!

bwamos
11-12-2008, 07:10 AM
Yea engineering is getting hit hard right now.

We're on a hiring freeze, soon to be letting go all of the contract employees in preperation for some tight times coming up.

It took a little longer to hit because there has generally been a shortage on engineers and CAD Techs for many years.

brian76708
11-12-2008, 07:16 AM
Good thing i am going to school to become a engineer :)

Mxjunkie
11-12-2008, 10:16 AM
Bodyshop business is still alive and kicking, instead of buying new cars everyone is just fixing up their old ones.. FINE by me! We aren't doing as many cars as we were in the past but I am hoping now that gas is 2.10 here it'll get better, Hell I'm just happy I can run 93 in my truck again! lol :devil: