PDA

View Full Version : 400Ex what do you recommend

Lilunwl
11-05-2008, 04:25 PM
Hello all im new to exriders and thus far i like it! I have a 2002 400ex and am going to start modding it and would like some others opinions. It is currently all stock.What i want to do is concentrate on a snappy throttle looks will come shortly after.I dont want to bore it because ive heard from others that its pretty much down hill after you do that. So what i am asking is if it were you and you had a stock 400ex what would you do to have it running the best or close to the best that is possible. I ride mostly trails but have fun racing against friends. What would you do first through last? someone i was talking to said something about a 450r carb. and ive seen it on here as well. Where do i find out what years will work on my bike. Is this really something that i should do? Well anyways thank you in advance to all who help me with what to mod on my bike to get as much as possible out of it.

BossHogg420
11-05-2008, 04:30 PM
dont get the carb unless up go up in compression or bore out. for snappy response u could lower the front sprocket a tooth....cost u 10-15 buxs or get a sparks advanced timing key....cost u 20 plus 10 shipping and the 15 dollar gasket. get an uni air filter and outerwears on the filter so u can take the airbox lid off for more airflow...matched with a slip on exhaust and u'd nice some nice power!

11-05-2008, 04:33 PM
1) 450r carb
2) Curtis Sparks timing advance key
3) Air filter
4) Exhaust
5) XR400 head gasket

That right there will make it run pretty damn good but just as reliable as stock. Mine seems to pull pretty good even without the carb and thinner gasket.

If you still want to be reliable and want even more punch, add this to the list:

Wiesco 11.1 or 10.8 piston
Hotcams Stage 2

Pipeless416
11-05-2008, 04:38 PM
i agree with the above. a 450r carb WILL be beneficial, even to a stock engine.

Lilunwl
11-05-2008, 04:46 PM