PDA

View Full Version : items to consider buying on a new atv?

rinaldi
11-01-2008, 07:22 AM
I posted a few threads on this forum and I am new to atv's. I have always had street bikes and I knew what most owners did to upgrade/change out on a new bike. Not sure on an atv? I am interested in simple bolt on's, safety items (skid plates, nerf bars) and other easy bang for the buck items. Let me know what you think is worth adding and why? Thanks.

hondaking52
11-01-2008, 08:24 AM
well i would say nerfs are well worth it, dont want ur feet fallin off, and a swingarm skidplate would also be a good idea, stock tin one's arnt tht great...theres a whole wack of stuff you could get, but its up to how much you wana drop into it...air filter might be an idea to

rinaldi
11-01-2008, 08:42 AM
What seems to be the consensus on the air filter; K&N or a Uni or what is deemed best on the Honda?

powermadd400ex
11-01-2008, 10:00 AM
Originally posted by rinaldi
What seems to be the consensus on the air filter; K&N or a Uni or what is deemed best on the Honda?

well it depends on where your riding, if your riding dunes and sand the k&n will be your best bet. but if your riding in alot of mud, water, dust. then i would go with a uni. the reason i say this is k&n let too much dirt in. but in controlled conditions like the dunes k&n will be just fine. the uni foam helps it keep the dirt out.
another mod you may wanna do is an slip on exhaust, shocks, if your stockers prove to be uncomfortable, and maybe a cdi to get the little extra rev outta the engine.

hondaking52
11-01-2008, 10:03 AM
well i have a k&n and i like it, theres a diff between the K&N and uni, ones good for sandy/dusty conditions(uni i think), and the K&N is for more muddy conditions...i may have this backwards...idk..

hondaking52
11-01-2008, 10:04 AM
ya i guess i had it backwards....lol

11-01-2008, 10:24 AM
the best way to upgrade a machine is: