PDA

View Full Version : Newb clutch install question

NacsMXer
10-08-2008, 12:02 PM
Getting ready to replace my clutch in my quad....i've never done a clutch before in my life.

Question for those experienced with this:
Should I scuff the the new OEM Honda steel plates with sandpaper prior to installing them? If so, what grit paper should I use?

I only ask because my Honda service manual makes no mention of it :confused:

drew416ex
10-08-2008, 01:36 PM
i did mine with scoth brite just to take the glaze off.

bjg696
10-08-2008, 02:27 PM
I did mine with a 1000 grit sand paper. It works very well, just like drew said, do it just enough to knock the glaze off. Just be carfull and watch how it all comes apart and itll take a total of 30 to 45 min and youll be done....;)

NacsMXer
10-12-2008, 02:01 PM
Ok, thanks for the replies :)

Now as for the clutch springs.....I have searched and searched on this without a decisive answer. I know you just have to "snug" up the bolts on the springs, but that's still a little vague to me.

Do I just tighten the bolts until they bottom out and then stop?

or

Do I tighten the bolts until they bottom out and then slightly "snug" them?

or

Do I stop tightening BEFORE the bolts bottom out?

Help a guy out with no experience here. I just need to get an idea from those who have done this many times.

Wheelie
10-12-2008, 03:14 PM
Be sure to soak the fibers in oil. IMO there is no need to scuff the steels, just install them as is.

Tighten the bolts in a criss cross pattern in several steps until they stop, then snug them up.

leasureryan
10-12-2008, 03:14 PM
I think the actual torque spec is 7-8 ft lbs

Darebee
10-12-2008, 07:26 PM
The repair manual just says to tighten them.
I havent done mine yet so I cant tell you the bolt size, but general torque specs for a 6mm bolt is 88in-# and an 8mm is 16ft-#.
They do not need to be overtight, stay on the light side.

BTW 88in-# = 7.3ft-#

NacsMXer
10-14-2008, 10:07 AM