PDA

View Full Version : My Shee won't idle

big_ed2008
09-26-2008, 10:51 PM
What's up guys, I'm kind of new to the way banshee's and two-strokes in general work and after doing some mods my bike doesn't want to idle. First of all, the bike ran and idled fine when I got it and ive been consistantly using a 32:1 ratio with klotz via a ratio-rite. I have replaced the clutch cable and in the process, had the carbs apart to see what it takes to replace a throttle cable. Also, the exhaust (full toomey t-6) was leaking from the couplars that connect the mid-pipe to the header and where the mid-pipe bolts to the silencers on both sides and I have mended this as well. The problem seemed to start after I put it back together afterwards.

Two things puzzle me and I'm sure the causes will be simple for someone a bit more experienced. The first is that the bike runs just fine as long as the throttle is pushed in a tad, or while i'm riding it through any gear. The second is that the plugs are disgusting and black with buildup on them. Could using too much oil cause this? Just to eliminate the obvious, the TORS is still on and I have removed the parking break over-ride from the harness.

Anything you guys have would be appreciated, and I can give any missing info you need. Thanks guys!

Mxjunkie
09-27-2008, 07:17 AM
27.5 pilot jets and 2 turns out on the fuel to air screws.

Black means it's running to rich, try 40:1 which is 16 ounces to 5 gallons and put a new set of plugs in it( Br8es or br8r ngk). The plugs should be a caramel color instead of black. If it makes them black again take the clip on your needles and move them up one to put the needle down in the jet some.

Does it blubber (break up) on top end??

big_ed2008
09-27-2008, 10:59 AM