PDA

View Full Version : Engineering career

ZeroLogic
09-25-2008, 08:39 PM
How you guys doing. Its been a few months since I graduated highschool and I'm looking for a little bit of a career change plus schooling. Right now I'm framing houses/additions and building decks and what not. When I turn 19 I lose my health insurance unless I go to a school so I want to keep that and also I want to furter my education.

Could you guys tell me some thing about a career in engineering?
I love thinking and creating things and solving problems. I was looking at either civil engineering or mechanical engineering, but leaning more towards the civil engineering. Could you guys tell me about the schooling I would have to go to and what exactly do you do when you start working. I already googled it but I'm just looking for personal opinions. Any other information would be great.:macho

09-25-2008, 08:42 PM
Do what engineering interest you. I had that set on my career but I decided to go with owning my own business and I still have a good background with AutoCAD, CNC machines and drafting work. I think aeronautical engineer would be cool or something with NASA. My dads cousin is the electrical engineer for the space shuttle.

09-25-2008, 09:38 PM
I was thinking of going for mechanical engineering to but it probably costs a lot. I was looking it up and you need to learn and know so much stuff that I dont even care about.

wilkin250r
09-26-2008, 12:17 AM
There is a lot of math involved. You don't actually use that math while on the job, day to day. But you need that math because you need to UNDERSTAND the concepts you're dealing with.

For example, if you have a beam with a continuous load across entire length, you need calculus to describe (and understand) the load at each point, the shear stresses at each point, the torque forces at the support points, ect ect ect.