View Full Version : Springfield® 40 S&W XD-M 40

Pappy
09-05-2008, 11:18 AM
Thinking hard on buying one for day to day carry and replacing my Kimber....anyone here use this or have expierence with them?

77rigid
09-05-2008, 11:33 AM
I haven't shot the M,but I bought the XD-40 for my wife awhile back and love it.I have a P99-40 cal that I use,but actually like the XD-40 better.I didn't like the feel of the XD-M that we looked at compared to the XD,not alot of difference,but enough to pass on buying it.

jherbie28
09-06-2008, 02:05 PM
Originally posted by Pappy
Thinking hard on buying one for day to day carry and replacing my Kimber....anyone here use this or have expierence with them?

funny this has been brought up, michelles cousin works for gander mountain and has this model. sweet gun, very small and accurate. im no expert on guns by far but i was very impressed with it. it has my vote and thinking hard on getting one myself;)

infantry317
09-06-2008, 06:10 PM
I just don't like that they aren't made in the US or Germany. Croatia, right? They definately look badass and are comfortable.

SPDSNYPR
09-06-2008, 07:15 PM
I am a firearms instructor with my department and often teach as an adjunct instructor for the state academy.

There are not a lot of XD's that I have seen go through the academy, and those that I have seen have not fared well compared to the mainstays of the police pistol market (Glock, Sig, Smith, HK, Beretta, etc). I would anecdotally put their failure rate (meaning parts breakage) at about 25% of the XDs I have seen. Of course, this is running the gun hard for several weeks. If you are an occasional shooter, it might serve you fine.