PDA

View Full Version : Padla Brat or triple buff?

USMC1STSGT
08-12-2008, 10:25 AM
I just bought an '88 250R (it's on the truck on its way to my house). Has a CT-310 kit (48 HP) and I will only be riding it on the dunes. I have been using Sand Skate II's for several years, but this time I am looking for the lightest tires out there. I have narrowed it down to Padla Brats or Skat Trak "triple buffs". I know that these tires are thin and I am OK with taking that risk, but my question is, are these tires about the same as far as durability?

I have read about 200 posts about tire size but I am still unsure of the size of tire to buy. I want to be able to drag race, on a recreational level.

(For the front, I think I will get the STU Razorbacks)

Thanks in advance!

mcboomport
08-12-2008, 02:02 PM
Are you going with 10" wheels or 8"?
I would recommend getting skat trak "Taller" Hauler 9 paddles on 10" wheels.. but, they are not the lightest. You should take advantage of where that bike shines on the sand, and its not going to be drag racing. You will be able to destroy some bikes out there, but that bike is going to outhandle the heck out of most anything on the sand.
I don't think your going to gain anything by going with the lightest paddle on that bike.

But,
If you go with an 8" wheel, it seems all the drag bikes up here have the skat traks. (the tires actually a different brand name on them buffed with paddles installed on them)
It all depends on what you want though, I am too biased on the handling of these bikes.

08-12-2008, 03:38 PM
I guess it all depends on how much you actually want to drag race. I'll give ya two scenarios and then my recommendation for each.