PDA

View Full Version : Which is best for me? 400ex or 450r

Bridgewater
08-11-2008, 10:18 PM
Well it looks like im finally getting my self a new quad. want a honda even though i know there not thes best make of quads but to me there a good reliable 4 wheeler.
im almost 15, 5"4. 124 lbs pretty light guy, this will be my first quad, i have road many before so its not like im new to it.
i know the 450r is faster but i think the 400ex would be much more reliable and cheaper.
which do u think would b the best pick?
Im also cusious on the 2 bikes in there much differance between the 2007 and the 2008 models becides the price?
Will be adding mods to the bike most likely shortly afterwards.
Most likely a new pipe (hfm) and getting it bored (which bore size is the best?)
Im not a real big expert on these quads yet so im sorry if some of my questions are a little wack.
thanks for your help.

08-11-2008, 10:29 PM
what kind of riding?

Bridgewater
08-12-2008, 04:47 AM
cant believe i did post that lol.
just looking for fun, mostly trails matbe the dunes every now and again not looking to race with these. just good ol fun

08-12-2008, 06:40 AM
if the trails are tight, you want the 400ex. the 450r needs to be run at high rpms. i had both and i have since traded the 450r for a 400ex and some cash.

i was working the clutch on it more than i was using the throttle. if there were any obstacles in the way like logs, you had to hit them at speed instead of finessing over them unless you wanted to really finesse the clutch. things like that made it more work than play and the fun went out of riding for me.