PDA

View Full Version : 06 tranny

QuadRacer18
07-25-2008, 10:20 AM
well yesterday i was at breezewood and my tranny locked up on me. We had to take the chain off to get it back to the trailer. Ive done topends and timing and i would say im a pretty good mechanic. Do you guys think i should be okay to do a tranny rebuild by myself? From the outside there appears to be no damage to the cases or anything. I drained the oil and found no signs of metal shavings. What are your opinions or any tricks to help me during the rebuild process. thanks

ALSO: The quad still starts and sounds good, so i know that it isnt a topend or connecting rod issue!

IMSROLL450R
07-25-2008, 03:51 PM
The 06 trannys are junk, mine did the same and I tore mine apart on the kitchen table. IF you have a manual and are mechanical minded I would go for it. Just take your time and pay attention to how everything came out. I would recommend checking the specs on every single piece of the tranny because if it was like mine, most of it is bad. If you buy new gears, have motoXperts or Rage mod them so it doesnt do this again. The problem comes from the gears not wanting to stay meshed. Good luck man.

QuadRacer18
07-25-2008, 05:34 PM
hey thanks man. How much did it cost for the gears, gaskets, etc? Did you have to replace the bearings? Also, when you took the cylinder off, did you remove the piston from the connecting rod or leave it connected. Just curious that way i can try and avoid new cerclips etc. thanks

bobbys9350
07-26-2008, 08:42 PM
Originally posted by IMSROLL450R