PDA

View Full Version : Front wheels stuck!

Ihavtop
07-24-2008, 07:57 PM
Well I'm new to all of this so I'm trying to do my brakes. I have a 02 400ex I just got and I have tried and tried and I can't get the front rims off the hub. Any ideas of what the deal is?

brian76708
07-24-2008, 08:21 PM
what is stuck the lug nut if so try puting a long metal tube on the ratchet to get leverage

Ihavtop
07-24-2008, 08:24 PM
No sorry should of been more specific. I have the lug nuts off. The wheel is actually stuck to the hub it's self. Nothing is holding it on. It's weird the nuts were put on extremely tight I don't know what the deal is.

brian76708
07-24-2008, 08:26 PM
have you tried a sludge hammer (if so be very carefull because the rims are aluminum and they will bend ) how about try riding it very slowly and turning the wheel

Ihavtop
07-24-2008, 08:29 PM
I tried a hammer and a bar pressed onto the back of the wheel to try not to mess up the wheel. I also tried riding it to pop it loose. Won't budge at all. It's really pissing me off cause there should be no reason for this!

Ruby Soho
07-24-2008, 08:37 PM
mine were stuck once.

i put a breaker bar on it and a long pipe and broke them loose with all the leverage

Xsapper
07-24-2008, 08:40 PM
do you have a propane torch? you can try heating up the wheel where it's in contact with the hub ...that will usually pop it free as the aluminum expands

Ihavtop
07-24-2008, 08:42 PM
I have a mini hand held one. I might try that tomorrow. Thanks

chris46250r
07-24-2008, 08:55 PM
Do you have stock Honda wheels or aftermarket wheels?

Ihavtop
07-24-2008, 08:58 PM
Stock Honda wheels.

chris46250r
07-24-2008, 09:00 PM
I cant think of any reason that a stock Honda wheel would be stuck to the hub.

chris46250r
07-24-2008, 09:02 PM
What kind of lug nuts, flat or tappered?

Ihavtop
07-24-2008, 09:03 PM