PDA

View Full Version : 400EX free mods?

Dangerous400EX
07-20-2008, 12:36 PM
I am the proud owner of a new '07 400ex and I am pretty new to ATV's, so I am going to keep the machine mostly stock for awhile. I know with everything there are some cheap and free mods that can be done to increase performance.

I have read about removing the air box cover, does this really make any kind of difference or does it just make the air filter dirty a lot faster?

Also does switching the front tires inside out add enough stability to be worth it? Does it cause any problems with the front brakes?

I am probably going to drop the front sprocket by one tooth, I am more interested in acceleration and holeshot than top end. Does this make much difference on a stock machine?

Should I be looking for some spacers for the rear axle, or are they hard on the longevity of the axle? I want to keep this machine pretty maintenance free, I have enough things to wrench on.

Thanks, any other tips would be appreciated.

justin1022
07-20-2008, 12:40 PM
Originally posted by Dangerous400EX
I am the proud owner of a new '07 400ex and I am pretty new to ATV's, so I am going to keep the machine mostly stock for awhile. I know with everything there are some cheap and free mods that can be done to increase performance.

I have read about removing the air box cover, does this really make any kind of difference or does it just make the air filter dirty a lot faster?

Also does switching the front tires inside out add enough stability to be worth it? Does it cause any problems with the front brakes?

I am probably going to drop the front sprocket by one tooth, I am more interested in acceleration and holeshot than top end. Does this make much difference on a stock machine?

Should I be looking for some spacers for the rear axle, or are they hard on the longevity of the axle? I want to keep this machine pretty maintenance free, I have enough things to wrench on.