PDA

View Full Version : Need opinions for riding gear

blaaze416
07-06-2008, 06:56 PM
So I've been thinking about getting some actual riding gear; boots, pants, chest protector. I ride in blue jeans and waterproof merrell hikers that have seen their day. Have you guys had good and/or bad experiences concerning those three items . Tell me what you like and don't like and where to look to get it. Been all over rockymountain. Looking for comfortable and effective boots and pants. The chest protector may wait til I actually start racing xc. Thanks for your input.

QUADCOP
07-06-2008, 07:27 PM
I've been racing motocross for over ten years. I have riden in just about every name brand on the market. It really depends on your style likings. Fox, Thor, Troy Lee Design, answer are really nice gear and quailty name brand. I love Alpinestar boots, but Fox, Thor, answer, are a few really good name brand boots. Goggle are again whatever is your style likings. I really would wait on a chest protector, until you start racing. Now, if you need a helmet I would suggest Fox, Shoei, Thor, Troy Lee Design are again some really nice name brand helmets. I really would not suggest someone that is wanting to race to purchase a "Damn" forty dollar helmet. I would rather purchase some cheaper riding gear and buy myself a really nice helmet.

You can just type in "Cheap motocross gear" and tons of really good websites will pop-up. Also, purchasing used gear is another option and really cheap way of picking up all the gear that you may need. Good Luck, Jason.

blaaze416
07-06-2008, 07:38 PM
Thanks Quadcop! I'll try the cheap motocross gear thing, and also look into Alpinestar boots. Boots and pants are what I'm mostly wanting. I like the over the boot type pant I think. I've never tried an in the boot pant, so who knows? What are the advantages of both?? Keep your prefferences coming. Tell me why you like what you got.

jrafter
07-06-2008, 07:41 PM