PDA

View Full Version : Pesky Z-400... I need power!

Maryland 400EX
12-03-2002, 08:48 AM
I'll keep this short and sweet. I'm a veteran rider with a 400 EX and happened to talk a friend into gettin a Z-400. He's very novice when it comes to quads but ****, a monkey can twist on the straights. I nearly fell asleep on the trails waiting for him, but later he cleaned my clock on the straights and now he's tellin' world how he's the man! Now I'm forced to dig in my pockets and get some go fast goodies to put this Rudy Poo in his place. I don't have time right now to take the motor apart for a piston kit cause we're still ridin' but I was thinking of either the X-6 pipe or the FCR 39 carb. I'm bone stock right now except for a 14 tooth front and Jet kit. Which should I get if I had $550 to spend? I need to beat this *********!

Doibugu2
12-03-2002, 08:51 AM
If your running a 14th sprocket and he is running stock, he is always going to beat you in a long straight away. Simply because of the gearing.

But to answer your question, from what I have read here, most people can beat a stock Z with just an exhaust. But if I were you I would get the carb and a slip on. Then you should have no problem. But the X-6 is load as ****. I did get a differenct pipe if you don't have a built motor.

Maryland 400EX
12-03-2002, 09:08 AM
I just ordered the Sparks X-6 Pipe. $490 to my door. Now I'm going to install this baby and my 15 tooth sprocket. If that doesn't kill the Z-400 I'll do the FCR 39 by Monday...

YZROOSTINYA
12-03-2002, 09:39 AM
just order all the motor parts and when they all come in do it in two days. then break it in and by the weekend he will be checking out you tail

Maryland 400EX
12-03-2002, 10:40 AM
YZROOSTINYA, you're scarin' me. Are you saying that I won't be able to reel him in with the Sparks pipe? Oh no! My poor bank account!

oynot400
12-03-2002, 10:50 AM