PDA

View Full Version : new 400ex owner

jeepthing07
06-01-2008, 03:09 PM
Im new to sport quads just picked up a 2002 400ex. whats some good websites for these machines? im looking for cheap/easy mods im not really into cosmetic mods more functional like maybe making your own air scoops...

I also would like to find a writeup on rebuilding the motor/trans with pics i have a clymer manual just looking for more real world info. like what kind of specality tools is it going to take what tools can i get by without buying etc..

write ups on tightening the chain and changing the oil would be cool to. i never messed with dry sump oiling before.

so start posting links i dont even know where to begin

Rip_Tear
06-01-2008, 03:19 PM
You'll get tired of hearing it but there is a search feature on these forums and you can find links to almost anything on anything.

Everyone here is always willing to help people figure stuff out. As for tools you'll need, a full metric set of sockets and wrenches is about all you really need (you don't even need a full set but it can be helpful). Almost all the bolt/nuts are 8mm 10mm 12mm and 14mm, there are a few 17mm and others but mainly the others.

http://www.exriders.com/vbb/search.php

jeepthing07
06-01-2008, 04:01 PM
Originally posted by Rip_Tear
You'll get tired of hearing it but there is a search feature on these forums and you can find links to almost anything on anything.

Everyone here is always willing to help people figure stuff out. As for tools you'll need, a full metric set of sockets and wrenches is about all you really need (you don't even need a full set but it can be helpful). Almost all the bolt/nuts are 8mm 10mm 12mm and 14mm, there are a few 17mm and others but mainly the others.

http://www.exriders.com/vbb/search.php

Im pulling the crankcase apart to replace the housing. it says i will need some specality honda tools to put it back together.

1. assembly collar # 07965-VM00100
2. assembly shaft # 07965-VM00200