PDA

View Full Version : No Throttle Response

cbrown74339
05-27-2008, 08:49 PM
Hello,
I have a 1999 400 ex that been sitting for about a year now. It starts and will idle all day long if I were to let it. The only way I can get it to actually move is if i have it set at half choke. the throttle response is perfect at this setting. with the choke off however, it will idle excellent but the very second that I give it any kinda of throttle at all it bogs down to the point of stalling out if I don't let off the throttle fast enough. If i give it full throttle it dies almost instantly. A friend mentioned a carburetor rebuild, but after the reading I have done, it sounds like something more to do with the accelerator pump to me, but i'm no expert. it does have an aftermarket uni foam filter and an FMF PowerCore IV muffler on it with the stock pipe. Any help would be wonderful. I should add that the carb has been completely pulled, disassembled, cleaned (jets and all), fuel drained and replaced, air filter cleaned, with all the same results.

hondaking52
05-28-2008, 03:05 PM
if it has the right jets, it maybe the fuel/air screw isnt right, should be about 3.5 turns out if it has DYNO JET jets

hope this helps

Exrider434
05-28-2008, 05:57 PM
Sounds like your running lean, putting the choke on would cut off some of the air flow making it run right.... Try bumping up the mainjet size.

What size is in it now?

QuadManiac
05-28-2008, 11:57 PM
Were the mods you describe added and it ran ok or did this start immediately after the mods?

bartlettracing
05-29-2008, 04:04 AM
watch and see is it squirts fuel when the gas is pressed....

bigballz400
05-29-2008, 09:52 PM
check the linkage between in the slide under the top cover of the carb.....if the slides not oping it dies when u gas it....run all day long idleing but once u gased it it fell on its face

idk if thast wats happen but that happen to me....check it

cbrown74339
05-30-2008, 06:24 PM