PDA

View Full Version : 300ex

sneekypete
05-18-2008, 07:45 PM
I bought a 2000 300ex and it would start and it would run as long as you would give it some gas so I cleaned out the carb the best i could even though it already looked clean put a new spark plug emptied the tank and put fresh gas and nothing changed it pops a lot and doesn't idle i'm no mechanic i think i cleaned out the carb good but maybe i missed something. the guy that had it before me never had time to ride it. i took it for a spin seems to have plenty power but if you let off the gas it dies, any suggestions?

the Z Man
05-18-2008, 09:39 PM
Check your valve adjustment, turn up the idle.
Clean the air filter, check for leaks between the airbox and carb, the boots have a tendancy to tear and leak.

sneekypete
05-18-2008, 11:52 PM
what do you mean by valve adjustment? how do you turn up the idle on these things? this is my first quad as you can tell i don't know much about these things.

Pojo450r
05-19-2008, 10:06 AM
first thing to do is buy a service manuel at your local dealer it is step by step basic trouble shooting and explains valve adj.
it is probably $25

the Z Man
05-19-2008, 07:56 PM
Take off the plastics and tank, remove the 2 caps on the top of the motor, check the play in the rocker arms, should be.... .005 on both the front and rear, I could be wrong u=it has been along time since I have doen 300ex.
The idle, hhmmm. should be right below the carb. a black knob. or is that 400ex??
Don't forget to check your carb. boot while its apart, move it side toi side and look for cracks.

bwamos
05-20-2008, 08:18 AM
0.004" intake and exhaust.

Idle adjustment is a ~3/8" diameter adjsutment nob w/ a slot for a slotted screwdriver in it. It is attatched to a bracket just below and in front of the carb float bowl.

Everything else was correct. ;)

sneekypete
05-20-2008, 10:18 AM