PDA

View Full Version : Cannondales

dirtbike&quad
05-12-2008, 04:09 PM
Can anyone tell me some info about them? How reliable are they compared to say... a 4 stroke honda (ie 400ex/450r) for the trails?? How does the 440 cannibal keep up with these newer 450s? I'm not looking to race but just have a good time in the trails, and after getting my new bike, going down to the 300ex is just SLOW as anything. So I'm just looking to upgrade a bit, and found a great deal on the cannibal.
Let me know!
thanks a lot for any info
Mike

quad2xtreme
05-12-2008, 04:50 PM
I am not a Cannondale expert but there were a ton of recalls on these quads. Many people didn't get the recall work done.

Cannondale filed bankruptcy and sold off this part of the business. The buyer never did develop a new version. I would be concerned about getting parts when it breaks.

Seano300ex
05-12-2008, 05:04 PM
i would say get a honda 450 or 400 ( or any bike) cause those cdales did have alot of recalls. my riding buddy has a cannondale canniball and its blown up 3 times in the 4 years he has had it. i believe you can find parts for them at cannondaleriders.com tho. good luck

BlaineKaiser450
05-12-2008, 05:06 PM
one of my riding buddies has one and as far as i know, he hasnt had any problems with it but it has so much engine noise that passing 94 DB checks is pretty hard

54warrior
05-12-2008, 08:12 PM
Parts are easy to get.

blackwidowatv.com

cannondaler.com
cannondaleriders.com

I had a 2003 Speed that I sold a couple years ago. I check in on the c'dale forums from time to time still, and it sounds as though they've gotten all the reliablity issues worked out. In fact, I read a month or so ago that, with the proper work done to them, they are actually now more reliable than most of the "Big 4" machines. Not requiring as much maintenance and what not.