PDA

View Full Version : help crank cam

hypersnyper6947
05-10-2008, 10:54 PM
I traded my warrior for a 440ex 2 days ago. The only problem is i need to get a new jug or sleeve and piston. I noticed some other things as well when i was in the engine that i wasnt sure about. The crank has some discoloration where it connects to the rod. I was wondering if this is normal, it looks to be from heat. I looked around on ebay and sall some nice used cranks but they look to have the same discoloration. I also noticed that my cam (stage 2) has what looks to be some chips missing from it. I dont know if i should get another cam and or another crank. I also dont know if i should just re-sleeve and keep the 440 or get a hole new jug. Im thinking of dropping to a 426, can i re-sleeve to that. I am very new to the 400ex and im not a mechanic by any means i just know the basics. Please help.
Thanks

PS: i tried to post pics but the files are to big how do i get around this

hypersnyper6947
05-10-2008, 11:04 PM
this ebay item is a good pic of what mine looks like

DementeD
05-10-2008, 11:47 PM
Crank-take it to a machine shop and have them check it..they can tell you if theres any damage and if it can be fixed etc..
dont trust coloration or someone on the web.
might as well take the cam as well..and see whats up with that..sounds like ull need a new one.

as far as your bore..you can resleeve it and id start with a 416 instead of jumping to a 426 or going back to a 440..

lastly..why on earth would u trade a warrior(unless it was in the same condition) for a "blown" 400ex??
just doesnt seem to make sense to me?!?!

hypersnyper6947
05-11-2008, 12:31 AM