PDA

View Full Version : 88 Swingarm question

Iliketogofast
04-24-2008, 12:18 PM
Is there a machined lip on the inside of the swingarm pivot point that the bearings rest in?

I'm trying to get them out but have no luck trying to beat them in. Any advice? Should I be able to beat them all the way through?

chris46250r
04-24-2008, 01:03 PM
Yes there is an edge to stop the bearing from going all the way in.

Iliketogofast
04-24-2008, 01:07 PM
Ok, so do you have any idea how to go about getting it out?

As you can tell, I'm completely clueless. It's my first build.

chris46250r
04-24-2008, 01:13 PM
First off be careful with these bearings. You can mess up the swingarm and the new bearings will not be tight in the swinger. I have a long round punch with a good flat end that I can stick through one side and knock the bearing out of the other side. A little bit of heat on the swingarm helps too.

Iliketogofast
04-24-2008, 01:57 PM
But wouldn't the punch have to have a bigger diameter than the inside of the bearing in order to punch it out?

If the punch was bigger than the I.D. of the bearing how do you fit it through?

These swingarms suck balls! :mad:

chris46250r
04-24-2008, 07:22 PM
The edge that the bearing goes up against isnt as thick or tall as the bearing. There aint a whole lot sticking up but there is enough. Thats why I said a good punch with a good flat end.

Fear250r
05-04-2008, 04:37 PM
I'm going through this same BS right now with my swingarm and can't seem to figure it out. Is there some type of cap or something that holds the bearings in place? I've got the bolt and sleeve out and most of the bearing, they're completely shot and some pieces are stuck the wall, but there seems to be another piece that holds them in place. There's a tiny lip on the outside of the swingarm, is that a separate piece that also comes out?

Iliketogofast
05-04-2008, 07:04 PM
The piece that you think is an extra piece is not. That's what I thought also.