PDA

View Full Version : Shifting without the clutch???

MAKO19
04-22-2008, 08:39 AM
Guys this may sound stupid but again I am new to this hobby. I was talking to a lot of my buddies that ride and they said they only used the clutch to get into first gear. Is this the proper way to shift the quad? Can I hurt the trans by going through the gears without the clutch? What is the correct way to shift?

Thanks!

zrpilot
04-22-2008, 08:45 AM
I'm sure you will get many opinions on this subject, but, I use the clutch whenever possible.

If, however, I find myself in a situation where I need a gear change and getting to clutch is a problem, then I'll shift without one.

IMO not using the clutch puts wear on the shifter forks, so use the clutch to minimize this wear.

BigBore24
04-22-2008, 09:15 AM
Originally posted by zrpilot
I'm sure you will get many opinions on this subject, but if I can use the clutch I do.

If however, I find myself in a situation where I need a gear change and getting to clutch is a problem, then I'll shift without one.

IMO not using the clutch puts wear on the shifter forks, so use the clutch to minimize this wear.

100% agreed. i use mine about 80% of the time. sometimes i dont use it in a drag race or a wheelie. not saying it will mess your quad up immediately if you dont use it but over time you will wear your trans more. i notice especially when i dont use it coming out of first it has a tendency to go into neutral and that sucks during a drag race

zdowell
04-22-2008, 11:07 AM
i'll 3rd that. It goes for anything, like atv's, motorcycles etc.... It may not hurt it that bad, but over time you will probably start having troubles with the tranny. If you are just riding around, I would suggest using it when ever possible.

Hondamaster5505
04-22-2008, 01:32 PM
I use my clutch CONSTANTLY! Its designed to be a manual, not a semi-auto:rolleyes: