PDA

View Full Version : Low end/Top end power

Chillyboarder
04-16-2008, 08:07 AM
Ok, my question is, what is low end power is exactly.

I had heard people say the 400EX doesn't have the best low end power, that it'll sometimes putter and stall if going too slow.

The thing is I cruise in 2nd gear doing 5 km/ph.

Does no low end power, mean that it'll need to go faster in the lower gears, or else it won't ride smooth?

Or, does it mean pretty much instantly and starting off that you have to switch to higher gears, because the previous are such high revv.

It's hard to keep a wheelie, as I'm just beginning them. 1st and 2nd are too slow for it.

I know I have a 15T sprocket in the front, so no doubt it's stock in the back as well.
Would I put a 14 or a 16 in the front to create more top end power?

Hans

greenblood01
04-16-2008, 08:24 AM
Low end power is typically referred to as how hard the motor pulls under half throttle. More low end power will give you more of a snap off of the lower rpm range while riding. Top end power is usually thought of as the power the engine makes over half throttle. A smaller front sprocket will give you more bottom end due to lower gearing, while one tooth bigger will give you slightly more top end. Changing your sprockets won't actually give the machine more power, just change gear ratios to make the power more manageable in the rpm range which you like to ride.

DementeD
04-16-2008, 12:28 PM
i imagine it would be sort of hard to keep a wheelie above 2nd without some small mods to unleash the 400ex power

im sure ud need atleast a slip on some kind of aftermarket filter like k&n or uni and from what ive heard the timing key does great and is very cheap..i already got mine but i havent went to get more oil and gasket to install it yet..

Chillyboarder
04-16-2008, 01:57 PM