PDA

View Full Version : Leak Down test

arakyle
03-29-2008, 10:15 PM
What do you guys do to perform a leakdown test? I'm new to 2 stroke engines.... had quite a few 4s.... just want to keep my R healthy.

Aceman
03-29-2008, 10:46 PM
http://www.duncanracing.com/techfaq/Tech_2-stroke-pressure-testing.phtml

arakyle
03-29-2008, 11:03 PM
Perfect. Thanks!

GPracer2500
03-30-2008, 04:10 PM
FWIW, I was able to find everything I needed to make a leakdown tester from Home Dept for like $20. Works fine and way better for me then spending big bucks for a commercial unit.

http://i34.photobucket.com/albums/d133/gpracer2500/PB160036.jpg

arakyle
03-30-2008, 05:09 PM
What do you use to block off the exhaust or intake? That setup is what I'm going to use as well. Did you find the gage at Home Depot as well?

GPracer2500
03-30-2008, 06:28 PM
Yes, the gauge is from HD. Took some searching to find it. The clerks were no help. If memory serves, it was in a small section of natural gas fittings/hoses. It was NOT with all the other brass pipe fittings or with the air compressor stuff. The gauge and all the brass pieces shown came as a unit for $12 I think. The rest is just PVC fittings. Take your carb boot with you. I guessed at the right size PVC piece and overestimated the size I needed.

I blocked off the exhaust using the the exhaust flange and a piece of rubber from an old motorcycle inner tube. I just bolted the flange onto the cylinder with a doubled over section of rubber captured between the flange and the cylinder. Under pressure it bulged out more than I was expecting but was air-tight. I also made a simple metal plate backed with inner tube material that I was going to use. I ended up not using it because just using the flange was a bit easier. Some people use expanding rubber plugs but I couldn't easily find the right size.