PDA

View Full Version : My anti-scam idea

MTDman11
03-29-2008, 10:45 AM
im not sure if this is in the wrong forum or not and also if its against rules.

ok im new to this and about to make my first transaction here with roadridin450r i checked his feedback its allgood but just to be safe.

here is how it works. the seller puts the item on ebay for the buy it now price of the agreement they have worked out. then the buyer gets the part for the buy it now price and uses paypal on ebay to work it out. i think this would be a good anti scam idea? im not sure tho.. post ur ideas on this and also how u have done transactions on this before i need some help.

Reticle
03-29-2008, 11:27 AM
The idea has merit, but if you think you are any more protected doing business through Ebay/PayPal than you are through here, guess again. I sold a $1000 item through Ebay, recieved money through PayPal, got an email 6 days later that the buyer used a fraudulent bank acct (6 DAYS LATER!) and that MY bank acct was frozen by PayPal until I deposited enough money in it for them to recover THEIR $1000.

I got ripped off by a buyer.
They couldn't track him down.
They STOLE from me.

It ended up getting worked out in the end. I tracked down the buyer 2 weeks later and as it turned out, it was an honest mistake on his part (he used a bank acct from the town he had just moved from) and he made it right very quickly.

The moral though is, do NOT fool yourself into believing that you are in ANY way protected as a buyer or seller by Ebay/PayPal.

I highly reccommend reading some of the stories here ---> http://www.paypalsucks.com/

MTDman11
03-29-2008, 12:25 PM
your your right =/ well how do i make this transaction as i am the buyer he is the seller, does he send the item like throgh ups when it arrives i send him cash in a envolope? send a check?

gf319804
03-29-2008, 12:26 PM