PDA

View Full Version : Need opinions for a motor

Fear250r
03-24-2008, 07:31 PM
Hey guys, here's the deal, I'm rebuilding my R and putting something bigger in it. I've been planning on a Duncan 305 PV, but wanted some opinions from everybody. I ride just about everything from tight/fast trails, sandpits and a little backyard track. My buddy is concerned because it's just a bigger piston and not a longer rod, any info on that would be great also. Ok, I'll let you guys go at! Thanks

beak7707
03-24-2008, 09:13 PM
Why would he be concered about a longer rod? You do not need to stroke a 250r to get good power. Stroking is more for drag racing not all around riding. That 305pv would have plenty of power, I think you would be impressed with any of the bolt on cylinders. I'm no expert but I'm pretty sure you dont stroke pv motors anyways, I think I read it is not a good combination.

custom R
03-24-2008, 09:38 PM
I just put a esr 310 kit with a 4 mill stroker crank to make it a true 310 and a good mid range port job and I do alot of the same type of riding you do. I only have a few hours on the motor since break in but so far I love it great low end power and pulls hard all the way up

wilkin250r
03-25-2008, 12:18 AM
Are you considering a stroker? Or are you talking strictly about a longer rod?

If memory serves, I think all Duncan motors are set up for short rod cranks, but a simple spacer plate would allow you to use a long-rod crank. I certainly know that my own Duncan 340PV uses a spacer plate.

My 340 PV is a handful. I'll be honest, if it was just trails and recreational, I wouldn't go with this motor. 90% of my trail riding is at 1/2 throttle. and I'm a fairly aggressive rider. A little smaller engine (like the 305 you are planning) still might be a little much, or it might be just right.