PDA

View Full Version : Belt shredded

riding4fun
03-23-2008, 10:27 PM
What could have made my belt shred. I have been running it for the last 2 months with no problems. The bike ran good on Saturdays race.

But Sundays race was a different story. All I did before the race was change the small clutch springs and went with a smaller front sprocket. 1 1/2 laps into it the belt went. Just wondering what caused this so it doesn't happen again. Any ideas??

Logan #34's Dad
03-23-2008, 11:39 PM
THAT SUCKS FOR YOUR RIDER! Usually the rear spring being to tight will cause a belt to break down. Was it a stock belt? You might want to look into the Malossi Kevlar belt. IMO

etondaddy
03-24-2008, 05:15 AM
Originally posted by riding4fun
All I did
Famous last words....... I'll tell yea what you did you f'd with it..... lol. If there’s one thing I've learned in five years of this stuff is after you make it happy don't f with it.

For three years..Two in the 70's and one in the 90's we ran 19/28 sprockets with 18" tires big red Mallossi spring, red little Mallossi springs, a Mallossi non-adjustable clutch (no f'ing with it type), Mollossi belt, Koso bell, and a strong top end. We've ran all types of tracks with that set up and found it to be the best middle of the road deal... I can't remember the roller weights I think they were five gram but not sure right now. We won a lot of races with that set up.

JMO....... but make it happy and leave it alone......there's not a worse feeling in the world then when it breaks and you think you may have done it and you have to look him (her) in the eye. But like I’v always told Kyle sometimes you win sometimes you loose and sometimes in breaks………. That’s racin !!!!

Mike Kozura

raidernut
03-24-2008, 07:51 PM