PDA

View Full Version : maybe a dumb question, but has anyone tried flipping the stock front wheels?

tri5ron
03-09-2008, 06:17 PM
Like the thread title says, this may be a dumb question, but I figured I'd ask anyway...
I'm new to quads, and always ready to learn from more experienced people.

I am also severly afflicted with a self diagnosed disease called A.A.D.S. (Accessory Aquisition Disorder Syndrome).

I've also noticed while reading through the many threads here, and seeing some of your totally tricked out rides,...
EVERYONE here seems to have a "Terminal case", of this same disease. LOL!

Basically, I define the symptoms of the disease as this...

"No matter how good something is, in it's original, stock, oem form,... I can not seem to control myself,... and MUST modify, change, accessorize, alter, or otherwise attempt to improve on the original design or intent, of every single thing I own."

so anyway,
I'm out in the garage messin around, and just thought I'd do a test fit to see what would happen...

My wife has a 250ex with aftermarket offset front wheels that are a little wider than stock. (about the same width as the rears). When I bought it for her last fall, I also got the original front wheels with it.

I just recently bought a 400ex for myself, and it came with Douglas front wheels that I belive are also wider than the original stock wheels. (I did not get the original front wheels with the 400ex).

I removed one of my Douglas wheels, and mounted one of my wifes oem wheels on backwards.
I find that the oem wheels would be about 1 1/2" wider than the Douglas wheels.

Now the only problem I can see is the valve stem will hit the brake caliper, and the brake caliper is a little more exposed to getting hit by a rock. (I dont think the caliper being a little more exposed is that big of a deal).

so my question is this,
If I was to weld the valve stem hole closed on the oem wheel, re-drill it on the opposite side of the rim,