PDA

View Full Version : burning the clutch

tman12345
03-01-2008, 02:59 PM
i know this a complete noob question but what exactly is burning the clutch and how does it occur?

zarquon442
03-01-2008, 08:14 PM
Its from riding the friction point for too long. It overheats the clutch disks and pressure plates.

tman12345
03-01-2008, 08:15 PM
Originally posted by zarquon442
Its from riding the friction point for too long. It overheats the clutch disks and pressure plates.

whats the friction point?

Flyin-Low
03-01-2008, 08:20 PM
The friction point is where the clutch is just beginning to grab, like riding with your clutch half way pulled in.

tman12345
03-01-2008, 08:23 PM
Originally posted by Flyin-Low
The friction point is where the clutch is just beginning to grab, like riding with your clutch half way pulled in.

so its bad to have the clutch partially out for a good amount of time, i knew that. But also isn't it bad to disengage or engage the clutch with your foot on the acellerator? i also heard it was bad to have your clutch out but also not accelerating, true?
I heard this on another forum.

tman12345
03-01-2008, 08:31 PM
so does revving up high and then dumping the clutch damage the clutch or other parts?

tman12345
03-01-2008, 08:32 PM
and isn't it kind of neccesary to let the clutch out slowly sometimes like when creeping like at a stop light or something.(i'm talking about in cars and trucks)

400exrider989
03-01-2008, 08:49 PM
well the other guys covered the friction point, you also do not want to go into high rpms with the clutch pulled in , it will melt a few things and burn you clutch, alos if you know how to properly dump the clutch its not to bad and you should need to pull in the clutch when you coming to a stop, watch or listen to your rpms and pull in and down shift when neccesary

tman12345
03-01-2008, 08:51 PM
Originally posted by 400exrider989